Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Spring Salmon Salad

I’ve been wanting to make this elegant salmon salad ever since I saw it in Southern Living. I knew it would be perfect for a handful of occasions, such as a Mother’s Day Brunch or a fancy spring luncheon! 

I’m not really a huge fan of mixing salmon into things – salads, pastas, sandwiches…I just find a lot of seafood to be best left simple and on its own. However, most of the population disagrees with that statement, as you see salmon used in so many different ways all of the time.

Spring Salmon Salad

When I saw the addition of asparagus and sugar snap peas, I knew I had to make this for the two people who love all of those things – my mom and Jordan. The edamame and radishes were an added bonus for me. The Creamy Herb dressing was also a tasty surprise, it reminded me of a wholesome homemade ranch that would be great on many salads, and perfect for dipping fresh veggies.

Recipe
Spring Salmon Salad
from Southern Living

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound fresh asparagus
  • 1 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1 1/4 pounds skinless salmon fillets, cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 6 cups chopped romaine lettuce hearts
  • 1/2 cup uncooked shelled fresh or frozen edamame, thawed
  • 1/4 cup sliced radishes

Creamy Herb Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh herbs (such as mint, dill, and chives)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper

Preparation

  1. Prepare Creamy Herb Dressing: Whisk together buttermilk, mayonnaise, chopped fresh herbs, fresh lemon juice, and salt and pepper. Chill 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat broiler with oven rack 6 inches from heat. Snap off tough ends of asparagus. Cut asparagus into 1-inch-long pieces, and cook with sugar snap peas in boiling salted water 2 to 3 minutes or until crisp-tender; drain. Plunge into ice water; drain.
  3. Sprinkle salmon with salt and pepper; broil on a lightly greased rack in a broiler pan 3 to 4 minutes or to desired degree of doneness.
  4. Arrange lettuce, edamame, radishes, asparagus mixture, and salmon on a serving plate. Drizzle with dressing.

* NOTE: I made Jordan grill the salmon. You can cook the salmon in whatever way is easiest for you, it’ll still taste great!